When you work in NYC, you need some place to live. But because I am a consultant and could potentially be traveling four days of the week, I wasn’t going to be paying New York City rent until I was positive that I couldn’t commute from home. So I booked myself 4 weeks at the Webster Apartments until I figured it out.

IMG_7664

The Webster Apartments is a women’s dorm located in the heart of Manhattan. The Webster houses students, interns, or business professionals within a certain salary range for up to 5 years, though most people here are foreign students/interns.

What you pay: Your rent is based on a sliding scale of what you make; hence no income = lowest cost.

What you get: It’s a dorm. Think a room with a sink. Shared bathrooms. Two meals a day. Solid wifi. 24/7 security. And a banging roof deck with an incredible view (see above)!

What you don’t get: Air conditioning (the first 2 days I almost died). Men are ONLY allowed on the first floor of the building, not in rooms. Location is loud, non-residential but you are a few blocks away from Time Square. A gym- there is no work out room. Water pressure- if you live on the 13th floor like I do, you will need to take the elevator to a lower floor to wash your hair.

IMG_7707IMG_7708 (1)IMG_7677IMG_7678IMG_7705IMG_7709

My opinion: For what you pay, this is an incredible deal. Rooms are clean and the building is safe. The roof deck makes the city a little more bearable for a suburban person 🙂 My real issue is that I am not a city person. I like to run outside and see grass. I like to drive my car to Target or a supermarket (there are literally zero supermarkets near me).

The food is edible but really strict. You can have as much oatmeal/cereal/salad as you want, but everything else is served to you based on their portions. You get one piece of meat. You can chose between dessert or a piece of fruit. You cannot take anything out of the dinning hall (at least that they see 😉 ).

Also I don’t know if flushing toilets is something unique in the US, but this sign is in every stall.

FullSizeRender-2

And still no one seems to read those signs. I will spare you a picture.

 

