I’m balancing pop-culture via in theater movies with books from the Barnes and Nobles classics list. The new and the old. Anyways here is my rating system:

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป = I like.

๐Ÿ‘Ž ๐Ÿป= I don’t like๐Ÿป๐Ÿป.

๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป = Neutral/ no opinion.

Books- The Classics

Sense and Sensibilityย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

Ugh. My first book of the summer. Absolutely horrendous. All they do is whine, and NOTHING ACTUALLY HAPPENS. Seriously, you could recount the entire book in paragraph. Two sisters, Elinor and Marrianne, have boy problems. Elinor = sense (aka. she hides her feelings). Marrianne = sensibility (aka. drama queen). They each date peopleย who turn out to be engaged to someone else. GASP! They move houses…drama…they take a trip to London…more drama.ย Then Elinor ends up with her guy. Marrianne does not. The end.

The Secret Gardenย ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

To recover from the tragedy of Sense and Sensibility, I choose an easy read next. Quick story, kept me entertained, and I could knock it out in and day and a half. I approve.

Crime and Punishmentย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

I had read this along with Sense and Sensibility in AP English my senior year of high school. I hoped it would get better when I could just read for enjoyment, but there is really nothing enjoyable about the mental state of a man who believes its ok to commit murder. *Smiles ironically* (I still have no clue what this means). Really, no complaints about the writing, I just don’t care for the topic. And theย 600 page length is not too pleasing either.

 

Movies- Showing in a Theater I Worked

Now when I say I have “seen” these movies, what I really mean is I worked this movies. Think when you flip channels and you see the same parts of an episode a zillion times but you’ve never seen the whole thing. On the other hand, movies that I have worked multiple times, I usually end up seeing most of the movie. I have seen the ending of every movie, because you wait inside the theater for people to get out.

The Nice Guys ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

This was the first movie I ever worked. It’s pretty funny and kept me entertained. I approve.

Alice Through the Looking Glassย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

Really not my favorite. Watched this one a few times.

X-Men: Apocalypse (partially)ย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

I know the gist of this one (aka I’ve seen the ending about 3 times), but really I’m not a fantasy person so I didn’t watch too closely.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadowsย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

Absolutely terrible. I have watched this one upwards of 7 times. “Normal? What fun is that? *Music ends climactically* Turtle Power!!This. This is embedded into my head.

Now You See Me 2 (partially)ย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

Only watched this one a few times. I am interested, but tried not to watch since I haven’t see the first one.

The Conjuring 2ย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

I don’t do scary movies. I understand what happens but I closed my ears.

WarCraftย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

Again fantasy and I don’t do video games so 1) I watched but had no idea what was happening and 2) didn’t really care to give much effort to figure it out.

Central Intelligenceย ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

I liked this one. The storyline is pretty typical, but it made me laugh and has a great end scene compilation.

Finding Doryย ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Adorable. This is a must see! I love Gerald and Becky and Destiny and all the new characters. The only thing that is sad is since I know Ellen plays Dory, I picture her face when Dory speaks. Also Jay from Modern Family plays Hank the Septopus, and Phil plays Bailey the big headed whale.

Independence Day Resurgenceย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

Meh. Not my fav. I haven’t seen much of the beginning of this one at all.

The Shallowsย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

TERRIBLE. I had to watch this 3 times in a row. And I watched the entire movie. Please save yourself and do not watch this movie.

The Legend of Tarzan (partially)ย ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿป

It’s a more historical account of Tarzan. I didn’t have strong feelings either way.

The BFGย ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

Bad. Bad. Bad. Boring and the little girl is whiny and it’s just weird.

The Secret Life of Pets ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿป

All the good parts are in the preview promo video. It’s a very predictable storyline. Good idea, but poorly executed.

Plus, exciting news!! I only have one week left of my serving-movie job. Real person job, here I come!!

