After 6 full semester of theoretical knowledge about mechanical engineering, we finally get to build stuff. One of my classes this semester is called Design Methodology. Basically the class is about how products are made from identify customer needs, to generating product concepts, as well as the process of how to actually build the products that are designed.

tz1Fpu

The class is project based, and our first assignment was to create another product out of an altoids tin that was aimed at a specific customer segment. My group decided to make a pinball machine aimed at “basic” teenage girls (read our description below… p.s. it’s funny).

Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 7.25.55 PM

For the actual pinball machine, we used the spring and ink container from a clicky pen as our pinball launcher and wooden doul pieces for the obstacles. I wish we had made the flippers actually functional and added a colorful printed out background on the back, but it was a group project and you can’t always get what you want.

IMG_5221 IMG_5222

Other random things that I have done for this class that I think you will find entertaining:

  1. I watched a video about INVISIBLE BIKE HELMETS (please watch this video, the suspense is palpable)
  2. I took a selfie with a car in the Snite Museum.
  3. IMG_5352I machined two pieces of metal with really intense equipment to fulfill the Machine Shop Experience requirement.

Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 5.21.58 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 5.22.07 PM

