I think everyone has their own dialect. I’m talking about how you can read someone’s text in their voice because of the words and syntax they use.

Exhibit A:

image
TELL ME YOU DID NOT READ THAT IN HER VOICE.

And then if you spend enough time with people, you start assuming their vocabulary!

Exhibit B:

At college, my friends group say “jokes.”

jokes: n. a response to something that is funny but not that funny (for example a dad joke).

One night we were all sitting in Sorin studying for Dif Eq 1 exam (Differential Equations 1=math), and Aaron says some dad joke about Dif Eq. Now before I got to Notre Dame, I had never heard of the word “jokes,” but I knew this was the appropriate time to use it.

So, proud of myself for finding the perfect occasion to use the word,  I opened my mouth and said, “Jokes.” …and so did everyone else in the room at exactly the same time.

A List of My Favorite Words and Phrases.

1. hi/bye friend!

2. hehe

3. sadness.

4. it makes me happy

I also enjoy not talking too. Quietness is nice.

