In an exciting turn of effects, I got my life together this year. This summer I will be a Quality Engineering Intern at Stryker in Kalamazoo MI. And this is not just any internship, this just happens to be my dream job.

Stryker

Stryker is one of the world’s leading medical technology companies. In other words, Stryker innovates and manufactures reconstructive implants as well as the surgical tools used to install them. As an athlete and just a competitive person in general, I absolutely love health and fitness. So as a Stryker intern, I love that everyday I will be working to keep the human body healthy and active. And more specifically, I love quality engineering. When there is a problem with the manufacturing, it will be my job to figure out what the issue is, and then think of ways to fix the problem.

The Interview Process

I originally became interested in Stryker after going to an information session last spring. The speakers were young and energetic, and really drew me to the company. So in early September, the week before the Fall Career Fair’s Engineering Industry Day at Notre Dame, I started applying online for internships for the companies that were attending the career fair. I submitted an application for Stryker’s mechanical engineering internships through Stryker’s website, and three days later I received an email saying they wanted to schedule a phone interview with me! Immediately, I looked up the Notre Dame alumni who currently work for Stryker. It turned out that one of my Intro to Engineering TA’s just got hired that summer by Stryker, so I was able to email her and get some advice on Stryker’s interview process.

The following Monday, I spoke with Stryker University Recruiter, Scott Schorer. The phone interview was mostly your basic behavioral interview and ended with a few “preview questions” for the Gallup personality test. Mr. Schorer told me immediately that they wanted me to move on to the next round and that I should schedule a Gallup personality test that week.

What is this Gallup personality test? It is a 30-45 min phone call with faced-paced/kinda random questions aimed at getting instinctual answers. For example, questions included “Would you rather lead the team or be a member of the team”, or “Rate your organization on a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest. Now tell me about a time when you were organized”. You can’t beat the Gallup. Either you are a good fit for the company, and hence will thrive and be happy working there, or you are not. My one thing of advice, and honestly this could go for any phone interview, would be to make a list of experiences/projects that you can talk about and relate to specific skills in question. That way when you are asked for an example of a time you, say, dealt with conflict, you can scan your list and recount one of your stories.

Blog Calendar

The last round was an all day on-site interview at the Kalamazoo campus. I talked with 10 different people from three perspective divisions with which I could be working. I was immediately drawn to quality. The more I talked to the quality people, the more I knew this was the right fit for me. I kept thinking “Wow this is so me. This is exactly what I want to do!” It was a longggg day, but I learned so much about Stryker, quality and process engineering in general, and even about myself!

The next week, I received a phone call and was offered an internship with the quality team. I am so excited and looking forward to this remarkable experience!

