This past week I decided to listen to an audiobook during work instead of music. My library system lets you borrow Kindle books and audiobooks right from your computer and download them onto the Kindle or Overdrive app on the device of your choice. The audiobook section is not too broad, so when I was scrolling throughout the audiobook section and stumbled above The Wolf of Wall Street I was extremely excited!

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 11.10.02 PM

The audiobook is read by an actor who reads the story with emotion and creates different voices for the characters. I love audiobooks because I lose myself in the story and completely forget what I am doing. It makes the day fly by! The one downfall, or I guess a plus in the case of the work week, is it take forever to complete a book. 20 hours and 22 minutes to read Mr. Wolf to be exact.

The story itself was nonstop action, full of unbelievable stories, and scenes that were so humorous that I had to pause the book so that I could regain composure and not randomly burst out laughing in the office. Do yourself a favor and read it.

On Saturday, my brother and I watched the movie. I am not one of those people who insist on reading the book before watching the movie, but since I had not seen The Wolf of Wall Street when it came out in theaters, now seemed like a perfect time. In my opinion, the movie palled in comparison to the book. First of all, I am probably too conservative to take all the drugs, sex, and other shenanigans that were constantly occupying the screen. According to Wikipedia “the film holds the record for the most uses of the word “fuck” in a mainstream non-documentary film.” Additionally, characters names were changed, multiple characters were combined into one, and the focus of the movie was changed from an inspirational story to a party/action film.

WallStreet2013poster

My brother is now doing the reverse of me and reading the book post-movie. He liked the movie. I will update this post with his opinion after he finishes reading the book.

In summary:

Read the book, but watch the movie first. Or else you will be disappointed.

