A collection of questions that I have wondered…

Why are we all afraid to eat banana butts?

I eat a banana everyday for breakfast. Not once have I eaten the bottom. Then at work today, someone had a banana and did not eat the bottom, and we all starting talking about how we never eat the bottom of bananas. But why? What is wrong with the banana butt?! I want to knowwww!!!

Note: On Reddit, someone called the bottom of a banana: a bananus! Clever, random person, very clever.

Who is in charge of naming songs?

My summer job as a mail opener/scanner gives me much time to listen to music, and so I was wondering who names songs? I mean most song titles consist of the few words that are repeated the most which everyones gets stuck in their head. But then there are some songs that have 2 titles like Artsy Title (Lyrics that People Actually Remember). I picture a humongous argument going along with the naming of every song with a parenthesis. I can just see (for example) Wyclef Jean picking a really random word from the lyrics and then is over there like, “Yes, this is it! Sweetest Girl  is the perfect name for this song. It really describes my hopes and dreams. The emotion is just so palpable.” And then the record label is like, “You have got to be kidding me. All you do is repeat ‘dolla dolla bill y’all’ for 4 minutes.”

Or what if the record label does not pick the second title. Does a randomly selected group of people get to listen to the song before it comes out and see what words each remembers most? Or are the lyrics copied and pasted into Word to see which word is most used? (I did this- see below). So many questions.

Note: The phrase “Sweetest Girl” comes up a mere 4 times in the song, “Dollar Bill” together is mentioned 25 times, and individually the word “Bill” is sung 39 times, and the word “Dollar” is sung a whopping 45 times!

After going through my iTunes, here are some songs with parenthesis in 2 categories which I call the Completely Different Category and the Continuing Lyrics Category.

Completely Different Category:

I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)- The Proclaimers

Crank That (Soulja Boy)- Soulja Boy

Absolutely (Story of a Girl) by Nine Days

The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)- Jason Mraz

Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)- Beyonce

Cheers (Drink to That)- Rihanna

Cups (Pitch Perfect’s “When I’m Gone”)- Anna Kendrick

Sweetest Girl (Dollar Bill)- Wyclef Jean

Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)- The Backstreet Boys

What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)- Kelly Clarkson

Over My Head (Cable Car)- The Fray

And you can’t forget this classic…

The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late)- Alvin and the Chipmunks

 

Continuing Lyrics Category:

Dude (Looks Like a Lady)- Aerosmith

Country Girl (Shake It for Me)- Luke Bryan

I Can’t Get No (Satisfaction)- The Rolling Stones

 

How did we first get language translations?

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 9.13.10 PMSeriously people! Google translate did not just appear out of no where! Did two people who spoke different languages just start walking around and pointing things out, each say them in their own language, and then write them down? Or did they do it by writing and just convert alphabets?

Update: I googled this and now I feel dumb. Someone on Yahoo Answers said languages were first translated by immersion just like babies learn to speak. This makes sense.

 

 

 

