This weekend our TV remote was not working, so naturally I sat there and clicked the “Power” button about a zillion times – click WHY click WON’T … click YOU… click WORK!!!! clickclickclickclickclick – before I finally decided to get up and change the batteries. As I was walking to the kitchen I started thinking about how few things actually use batteries anymore. I mean really though! Now everything just has a charger. I’m pretty sure the only thing I own that still operates on batteries is my TI-84 calculator.

Hold up.

I love my TI-84 Plus Silver Edition calculator. He and I go way back to 7th grade, when six other kids and I would jam ourselves into a closet (no joke) and play Block Dude while an extremely nice but extremely old lady talked at a whiteboard. This happened everyday in something we at the esteemed St. Basil the Great Elementary School call “honors math.” And to this day the little guy is still going strong.

IMG_1050
Cutie

Ok resume.

Well, we keep our batteries in the same cabinet with our cereal, candy, and pretzels/chips.

IMG_1051

As I grabbed the batteries I wondered if anyone has ever eaten only a single potato chip. So I did it…

Video evidence ^. It was weird.

Fast-forward to yesterday. Now, there is nothing I love more than when things come together perfectly. For example, I filled the last page my Linear Algebra notebook on the last day of math class. Absolute perfection right there. And yesterday, my mom used a raw potato to remove a broken lightbulb. Potato + power source = happy Katie. Seriously, I couldn’t have dreamed of a better planned post.

Now why did my mom use a potato to remove a broken lightbulb? Believe it or not, it is an accepted practice by electricians. Seriously. Google it. Yesterday my family was over at my cousins’ house for my younger cousin’s Confirmation. They have a ceiling fan with lights, and while trying to remove one of the lightbulbs, my aunt broke off the glass part of the bulb but the metal part remained screwed into the ceiling fan. Unfortunately, when the electrician came to fix it, he asked for a potato, but my aunt did not have a potato. (This is the part that gets a little sketchy and I don’t know why the electrician left without fixing the light but whatevs).

Here is what happened:

 

  1. The remnants of the lightbulb were still in the fan when we arrived.
  2. My grandmom brought a potato.
  3. My mom is a very capable person and decided to remove the lightbulb herself.
  4. I found a youtube tutorial showing how to remove a broken lightbulb with a potato, and my mom watched it.
  5. My uncle turned OFF the power to the house. (This decision was more of a dilemma than I was expecting. My aunt did not think the electrician said you have to turn off the power. However many a fifth grade science fair project involves potato batteries- hence electrical conductor. Plus I did a thermodynamics project this year where we estimated the time required to bake a potato using Newton’s Law of Cooling in which we appropriately assumed that the material constant of the potato was the same as that of WATER *inhale*. Luckily everyone eventually agreed that turning off the power was a good idea and my mom was not electrocuted).
  6. My aunt and I held up flashlights while my mom screwed the potato into the remnants.
  7. Potato bits fell on the floor.
  8. My mom switched to pliers.
  9. The metal remnant was removed.
  10. Credit was given to the potato for loosening the metal piece.

 

Then we turned the lights back on and ate cookie cake. #ComeHolySpirit

End Scene.

