With the beginning of my sophomore year at ND just about to begin, I thought I would share the 5 iPad apps that make my college life soooo much easier.

#1 Notability

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 7.32.49 PM

Notability is a note-taking app that allows you to write on blank notebook paper or directly on an imported pdf or web clip. The app costs $2.99, but it is seriously worth every cent. I use Notability every day from taking notes in class, to completing my online homework without even having to print it out. I absolutely LOVE this app!

IMG_2212
The app magnifies areas of the page so you can write clearer, cleaning, and more quickly.
IMG_2209
A wide range of colored pens and highlighters are available for more entertaining homework or fun study breaks.IMG_2211-1All your notes are cleanly organized right at your fingertips.

And best of all notes can be printed, emailed,  or exported to document storage clouds such as Google Drive, Box, and Dropbox, which leads me into my next favorite app:

 

#2 Google Drive

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 7.54.29 PM

Google Drive lets you upload all your documents and access them anywhere. This app has saved me numerous times when I forget to print out my homework. Again organization is a huge necessity for me and Google Drive allows me to group my files in folders easily.

IMG_2213 IMG_2214

#3 MyScript Calculator

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 8.05.20 PM

In MyScript Calculator,  you can handwrite math problems onto the screen, then have the program convert your script to type and solve. Definitely a necessity for math/engineering/science majors, but beneficial just to keep handy. I don’t need to drag around my bulky TI-84 and it is quite convenient to just swipe between this and Notability when doing homework.

IMG_2215
Handwritten equations automatically turn into text with a solution.

 

#4 Calorie Counter and Diet Tracker by MyFitnessPal

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 8.05.44 PM

MyFitnessPal lets you track your exercise and calories either by searching its huge food database or by scanning the item’s barcode. The app is very quick and easy to use, plus it is a visual reminder of your food intake. I always find I eat less when I write everything down that I consume.

IMG_2218

 

#5 Pic Collage

Screen Shot 2013-08-20 at 8.06.03 PM

And finally, Pic Collage allows you to grab pictures from your library, camera, or the web and maneuver them all on one canvas.

IMG_2216

The main reason what I love this app though is the “clip” function. Simply draw around the area you want cut out of the picture and BAM! instantly cut.

IMG_2217
This…
IMG_2222-1
…becomes this.

This function is so helpful for creating project posters, diagrams, and of course fun birthday cards and posters!

IMG_2226
(my cousin did win his student council election yay!!!)

Dreams don’t work unless you do…

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 11.16.14 PM

