I consider myself one who struggles in the style category. I would go for comfort over cute any day… seriously I live in sports bras and running shorts. But I do know looks and appearance play a huge role in life whether you want to believe it or not. And as this summer I got a my first summer-long job (I work for a temp agency so most of my jobs previously lasted around 2 weeks) in an office environment, I needed to get my act together. Then BAM! I stumbled over this pin on Pinterest, and decided to give it a shot with my own closet.

Luckily for me because I am fashionably challenged, I have always bought all my clothing in neutral/ocean tones: greens, blues, browns, blacks, cream, and gray. So I matched each item on the list with one similar in pattern and style that I own (plus a few extras to make it work and add a little more variety), and this is how it came out:

IMG_2169

 

Sorry for the poor picture quality, but I did this at night (you know how you do nothing all day and then 1am seems the perfect time to reorganize your closet mhmmm?). Anyway here is a list of the clothes I picked starting from the upper left and working down the column.

1st Column

  • 1.   Khaki dress pants
  • 2.   Black dress pants
  • 3.   Floral Skirt
  • 4.   Black Pencil Skirt

2nd Column

  • 5.  Turquoise striped cardigan
  • 6.  Lime green cardigan
  • 7.  Light gray cardigan

3rd Column

  • 8.  Brown t-shirt
  • 9.  Turquoise patterned racerback
  • 10. Cream sleeveless button-down
  • 11. Lime green racerback
  • 12. Cream lace three-quarter top

4th Column

  • 13. Black floral sundress

Shoes

  • 14. Black ballet flats
  • 15. Black heeled dress sandals
  • 16. Brown heeled dress sandals
  • 17. Brown sandals

And the 30 days of outfits:

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

Personally I think it came out very well. I definitely would have to add in some different outfits throughout the week, though. Some of the items do seem very repetitive. I mean I think you could add in the dress a few more times. Overall I made some outfits that I never would have paired on my own and isn’t that the whole point… making new outfits out of clothes you already have? I am trying to embrace a minimalist lifestyle slowly but surely. Even better, I like that I don’t have to think about what I am going to where the next day, sort of like a uniform – the Catholic school upbringing strikes again!! And it is definitely helpful for remembering what you wore and not repeating outfits too often.

tumblr_lg1eijrLXJ1qzi8igo1_500
Couldn’t help myself.

 

 

 

Dreams don’t work unless you do…

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 11.16.14 PM

